It’s the Little Things in Life

I get a lot of my material for my blog from Facebook. That’s probably because I’m on there way too much. However, Facebook is a good source to see people’s true feelings about a subject.

One such discussion was about the Baltimore riots. I, of course, was campaigning for something to be done with police brutality against African-Americans. This is Facebook, and people jump to pull the I’m offended card, so I’m sure one of my discussions made someone mad. Such is life.

I realize I grew up in ND where 90% of the population is Caucasian. As such,  the good majority of my Facebook friends are white.

Let it be known that I have no problem with that. I love people 🙂

However, when it comes to racial matters, I’ve been in quite a few heated debates with people I could see on a daily basis. Needless to say, my views on racial issues have been met with much resistance by some. No, not because they are white. It’s because they grew up around a majority. Thus, there were certain things they didn’t encounter on the racial front. My opinion, or facts, upsets how they see the world.

For myself, the Baltimore riots discussion focused of why the media showcases African-Americans as violent savages. Ferguson, Baltimore, Watts (I know that was years ago), etc. Whenever a riot occurs for political reasonings, African-Americans get the brunt of negative press. I hate it.

I don’t understand this “we are all people, but only black people riot” mentality. I refuse to believe there weren’t other races involved. However,  “Only blacks” is the narrative big media sells, and we eat it up like Lucky Charms and Saturday morning cartoons.

Unsurprisingly, I would see jokes on Facebook about how “the blacks are gonna riot now.” It irritated me because I have no reason to pick up a trash can and throw it through a window (RADIO RAHEEM!!!). I’m not going to throw bricks at a cop. Violence begets violence.

So, one night I got a Facebook message with pictures of the Baltimore riots. The pictures were African-Americans (nobody else) looting different stores. I didn’t like that one-sided nature,  so I addressed the problem. We had a civil conversation, but I had a bit of a sour taste in my mouth.

Months later, my birthday came. I received a bunch of messages wishing me a happy day, and one of those messages came from the person who sent me those pictures.

I was honestly thankful. Here it is I allowed our prior conversation to be divisive, and he had enough in him to wish me a happy birthday.

My tune changed.

Not that I hated the guy. I realized there’s no reason to have a sour patch kid in my mouth about our previous discussion. He didn’t have to remember me on my birthday day. So, why let the Baltimore conversation shape how I see him? I didn’t think I was don’t that, but I was guilty.

Facebook can serve to divide depending on the subject. However, it also serve notice that we are all people. A simple “Hey! I’ve been thinking about you. Hope all is well!” can go a long way. In our daily interactions, a smile, compliment, or even a hug may mean the world to somehow else. Sometimes, people need to know they are loved. It’s the little things in life that show this feeling. So, pick someone up today. Smile, complement, hug them!

Show someone love.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

